Healing, Paganism

Connecting with Frigg

Boucle close-up

As part of my healing journey, I reached out to a community of pagans online asking my question about patron goddesses of miscarriage. I got a lot of lovely responses. The two that I found most compatible with my own practices were Brigid, who is often even considered an aspect of the Cailleach), and the Norse goddess Frigg, wife of Odin (who has occasionally made contact when I’m in meditation).

I did some research about the practices of offering to these deities and discovered that because Frigg is a goddess of the household, fiber arts are often offered to her. I actually broke down and wept when I read this because it was so poignant to me. While I was trying to conceive, I would use crochet projects as a way to keep my mind busy, particularly during the two-week wait. Later, when I was in the middle of dealing with the physical part of the miscarriage, I bought yarn and started a project, intending it to be a holiday gift for a friend. When the second part of my miscarriage, and eventual surgery, happened, I ended up abandoning the project, though it remained on the top of my crochet basket.

The yarn is a deep wine red, fitting for an offering alongside deep red cherry melomel and a desire to heal after the unintended blood sacrifice. I sat in meditation and offered drink and the work of my hands to Frigg. She came to me and told me that I should unravel the work and start fresh, that I would know what the yarn was for when it was right.

A week later, I got a message from a friend who is planning her baby shower. She’s one of my oldest friends, and there is no amount of grief that would prevent me from being happy for her. I knew that this yarn was meant for a gift for her baby boy.

[Image Source]

Standard